Pour toutes les demandes concernant les médias et la collaboration, veuillez contacter Cassandra Murphy.

fantuz@dotsandco.ca

Si certains artistes considèrent leur travail comme un miroir de la société, l'œuvre d'Emilie Fantuz peut être considérée comme une loupe tenue contre le monde qui l'entoure. Née à Ypsilanti, Michigan, Emilie a commencé son travail dans le cadre pittoresque d'Hawaï, où des vues exquises pour inspirer ne manquent jamais. Son travail a évolué au fil du temps, tout comme son environnement, mettant en évidence la beauté des scènes de tous les jours comme les rues de la ville et les flancs des montagnes, ainsi que son propre état émotionnel, de la luminosité des fleurs à l'intensité de l'abstraction.

C'est à Hawaï qu'Emilie a appris la technique qui allait devenir sa méthode de signature - l'utilisation de couteaux à palette. Son adoption de ces outils allait plus tard déclencher l'introduction entre son mari Mike Fantuz, un artiste qui utilise également des couteaux à palette. Aujourd'hui, le style unique d'Emilie est un mariage sans faille entre le réalisme américain et l'école Ashcan, affichant des paysages urbains et des vues urbaines à travers un cadre romantique qui fait que même la lueur d'un réverbère franchit la ligne entre la réalité et le rêve.


Son temps passé à vivre dans différentes villes, de Kauai à Detroit, a perfectionné la perception aiguë d'Emilie de la beauté, même dans les détails les plus discrets. C'est cette observance de scènes subtiles qui crée l'imagerie incomparable dans l'œuvre d'Emilie. Elle puise également son inspiration dans une variété de sources, de l'éclairage, du contraste et des émotions à la vue pittoresque d'un trottoir occupé.


Ses œuvres ont été exposées aux États-Unis et au Canada, y compris la populaire exposition annuelle, Bugs, Blooms, Beasts, tenue au Scarab Club à Detroit. Son travail a été primé à plusieurs reprises, de A l'Heure de Paris à Detroit, Michigan, et du projet d'art public de la ville de Howell à Howell, Michigan, et fait partie de collections aux Pays-Bas, aux îles Caïmans et en France. Elle aime se ressourcer en faisant de la randonnée dans les montagnes canadiennes près de chez elle à Vancouver.

Les paysages urbains d'Emilie Fantuz combinent une application épaisse et audacieuse avec un sentiment d'optimisme saisissant. Elle construit des formes ondulantes à partir de palettes lumineuses et contrastées pour créer de nouvelles perspectives sur des rues et des bâtiments familiers.

Nos environnements urbains sont construits à partir de matériaux denses de béton, d'asphalte et d'acier. Fantuz les reconstruit sur chacune de ses toiles à l'aide de couteaux à palette pour créer des couches d'empâtement fortement appliqué. Elle met l'accent sur les scènes nocturnes où les lumières lumineuses, réfléchissantes et colorées au niveau de la rue se détachent du ciel nocturne naturel. Les personnages de ces scènes approfondissent la juxtaposition entre le naturel et le construit. Leurs corps, leurs postures et leur positionnement dans la composition racontent des moments intimes de chaleur dans un environnement connu. Fantuz adoucit les angles et les formes des rues et des bâtiments, tout en mettant l'accent sur les teintes fortes et la dynamique tonale, entraînant le spectateur dans un paysage urbain qui résonne avec l'expérience intérieure des figures de ses peintures. Habituée à se familiariser avec des lieux urbains qui peuvent au premier abord sembler aliénants, Fantuz se familiarise avec ces espaces noirs du soir afin de révéler leur véritable potentiel nourricier.

Fantuz met en lumière le caractère essentiel des bâtiments et des lieux dans des environnements urbains historiques et contemporains. Elle reflète également le caractère unique des personnages au sein d'une population dense, observant leur connexion et les histoires qui nous entourent. Celles-ci sont baignées de lumière qui rebondit sur la surface brillante de la rue autant que sur les fenêtres des immeubles.

Les pièces de Fantuz partagent l'attention portée à la beauté des moments quotidiens suspendus dans le temps. Ses méditations sur la pause - à la fois dans la vie et devant ses toiles - invitent le spectateur à faire de même.

2020

Summer Group Exhibition, Ian Tan Gallery, Vancouver, BC

2019

artsPacific, Aldergrove Kinsmen Community Center, Langley

Two Concepts of Realization, Newton Cultural Center, Surrey, BC

2018

Arts 2018, Surrey Art Gallery, Surrey, BC

Artist Talk: Palette Knife Adventures, Surrey Art Gallery, Surrey, BC 

Magnitude of Color, Beaudry Gallery, Dallas, TX 

2017

Diversiform, Beaudry Gallery, Dallas, TX

In a New Light, Hatch Gallery, Hamtramck, MI

Seven, River's Edge Gallery, Wyandotte, MI

A l'Heure de Paris (First Place Award), Detroit, MI

Haute Domain: Detroit Art & Design, Galerie Camille, Detroit, MI

Blooms, Bugs, Beasts, Scarab Club, Detroit, MI

Future Interrupted, Beaudry Gallery, Dallas, TX

Hatchback 11, Hatch Gallery, Hamtramck, MI

HOME, Mike Kelley's Mobile Homestead, MOCAD, Detroit, MI

2016

Holiday Show, Galerie Camille, Detroit, MI

Detroit Society of Women Painters and Sculptors Fall Exhibit, The Loft Fine Art, Mount Clemens, MI

Detroit Biennale, Museum of New Art, Armada, MI

MoPop Festival Featured Artist, Detroit, MI

2016 Fine Art Competition, Ella Sharp Museum, Jackson, MI

Michigan Fine Arts Competition, BBAC, Birmingham, MI

Pop Up Art: Special Edition, Lansing Art Gallery, Lansing, MI

Pathways and Places, solo-exhibition at Beverly Shores Gallery, Beverly Shores, IN

2015

Art for Charlie, Michigan State College of Law, East Lansing, MI

The Next Big Thing, Museum of New Art, Troy, MI

A Rose is a Rose... Except When It's Not, River's Edge Gallery, Wyandotte, MI

Let's Pretend, River's Edge Gallery, Wyandotte, MI

Zussameinarbeit, River's Edge Gallery, Wyandotte, MI

Public Art 

Salem-South Lyon District Library, South Lyon, MI

City of Howell Public Art Project 2015 - 2017, Howell, MI

Art Explored 2016 & 2017, Royal Oak, MI

Detroit Little Libraries - Detroit, MI

Pop Up Art: Special Edition, Lansing, MI

Romulus Public Library, Romulus, MI

Novi Public Library, Novi, MI

City Hall Public Art Installation, Michigan City, IN

Royal Oak 11 Mile East Public Art Project, Royal Oak, MI

Media

Emilie’s story... Real People Real Stories - Creating Connection during Social Distancing, The Compassion Project

Beautiful Paintings of the Natural & Urban Landscapes with Palette Knives, Trendy Art Ideas

Emilie Fantuz: The Artist's Voice Podcast 

Where are they now? Detroit Performs, Detroit Public Television

Featured Artist, Border Crossing Magazine 

Artist Talk: Emilie Mae Fantuz, Palette Knife Adventures, City of Surrey

The Motion of Emotion, Dallas Art & Design Magazine

Emilie Fantuz: Abstract Artist, Artists on the Cutting Edge

From Michigan to Kauai and Back, Art and Design, Bloomfield Community Television 

What the Quiet Can Do, Abstraks Magazine

Detroit Performs, Detroit Public Television 

Works of 5 Artists Permanently Installed in Royal Oak, Royal Oak Patch

Interview: Emilie Fantuz, Romulus Community Television

Selected Collections

Henry Ford Hospital

Bank of Ann Arbor

Burris Law Firm

US Renal Care

Iron Fish Distillery

Todd Interests

Private Collections in Canada, United States, France, Caymen Islands, and the Netherlands

The Fantuzes

Emilie et Mike Fantuz travaillent et résident à Vancouver BC, Canada avec leur Apricot Poodle, Victoria.

Bien que les deux artistes aient une expérience formidable à la recherche d'inspiration dans de nombreux endroits, ils ne s'attendaient pas à se trouver en le faisant. Qui savait que leur inspiration hashtag préférée sur Instagram #paletteknifepainter serait également la raison pour laquelle ils se sont rencontrés.

Après de nombreuses conversations et finalement une rencontre, Emilie a déménagé du Michigan USA vers le Grand Nord Blanc. Aujourd'hui, Emilie et Mike travaillent dans le même studio, tous deux utilisant la technique de niche qui les a réunis.

L'art d'Emilie crée un sentiment de curiosité. Cela donne au spectateur envie de savoir ce qui se trouve dans le coin suivant et crée en même temps un sentiment de familiarité. Avec son œil en perspective, elle est capable de transformer une observation quotidienne en une forme d'art qui capture un moment que vous êtes heureux de ne pas avoir manqué.

Avec son style audacieux et sa nature expressive, les pièces de Mike complètent la perspective rapprochée d'Emilie. En prenant une vue régulière et en regardant simplement vers le haut, l'art de Mike crée une nouvelle perspective sur la façon dont nous voyons les choses. Skyline typique de Manhattan ou montagnes pittoresques de Vancouver, son art offre aux spectateurs une nouvelle façon de voir des choses qu'ils pensaient déjà connaître.

L'art des Fantuzes est à la fois captivant et captivant. Bien qu'ils travaillent en tant qu'artistes individuels, leur art combiné crée un nouveau type d'expérience qui permet au spectateur de voir l'image complète de tout ce qui nous entoure.

Pour toutes demandes médiatiques, presse et collaboration, veuillez contacter Cassandra Murphy.

Cassandra Murphy

Stratégie et communication

fantuz@dotsandco.ca

Digital Press Kit, Palette Knife Art, Emilie Fantuz

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Contact

email

For all media and collaboration inquiries, please contact info@emiliefantuz.com

If some artists consider their work to be a mirror of society, the artwork of Emilie Fantuz can be considered a magnifying glass held against the world around her. Born in Ypsilanti, Michigan, Emilie began her work in the picturesque setting of Hawaii, where exquisite views to inspire never lack. Her work has evolved over time as her surroundings have, highlighting the beauty in everyday scenes like city streets and mountainsides, as well as her own emotional state, from the brightness of florals to the intensity of abstraction. 

 

It was in Hawaii that Emilie learned the technique that would become her signature method — the use of palette knives. Her adoption of these tools would later spark the introduction between her husband Mike Fantuz, an artist who also utilizes palette knives. Today Emilie’s unique style is a seamless marriage between American realism and the Ashcan School, displaying cityscapes and urban views through a romantic framing that makes even the glow of a streetlamp tread the line between reality and dream. 


Her time spent living in different cities, from Kauai to Detroit, honed Emilie’s keen perception of beauty within even the most inconspicuous of details. It’s this observance of subtle scenes that creates the unmistakable imagery in Emilie’s work. She also finds inspiration from a variety of sources, from lighting, contrast, and emotions, to the quaint sight of a busy sidewalk. 


Her artwork has been exhibited in both the United States and Canada, including the popular annual exhibition, Bugs, Blooms, Beasts, held at the Scarab Club in Detroit. Her work has been awarded several times, from A l’Heure de Paris in Detroit, Michigan, and from the City of Howell Public Art Project in Howell, Michigan, and belongs in collections within the Netherlands, Caymen Islands, and France. She enjoys reenergizing herself while hiking in the Canadian mountains near her home in Vancouver.

Emilie Fantuz’s cityscapes combine thick, bold application with a striking sense of optimism. She builds undulating forms from bright, high contrast palettes to create new perspectives on familiar streets and buildings.

Our urban environments are built from dense materials of concrete, asphalt and steel. Fantuz rebuilds them on each of her canvases using palette knives to create layers of heavily applied impasto. She emphasizes nocturnal scenes where the bright, reflective, and colourful lights at street level stand out against the natural night sky. The figures in these scenes deepen the juxtaposition between the natural and the constructed. Their bodies, postures, and positioning in the composition tell of intimate moments of warmth within known surroundings. Fantuz softens the angles and forms of the streets and buildings, while emphasizing strong hues and tonal dynamics, drawing the viewer into a cityscape that resonates with the inner experience of her paintings’ figures. Accustomed to familiarizing herself with urban locales that can at first seem alienating, Fantuz defamiliarizes these noir, evening spaces in order to reveal their true nurturing potential. 

 

Fantuz illuminates the essential character of buildings and locations in historical and contemporary urban settings. She also reflects the figures’ uniqueness within a dense population, observing their connection and the stories that are all around us. These are bathed in light bouncing from the sheened street surface as much as from the buildings’ windows.

 

Fantuz’ pieces share attention to the beauty of everyday moments suspended in time. Her meditations on taking pause - both in life and in front of her canvases - are an invitation to the viewer to do the same.

2020

Summer Group Exhibition, Ian Tan Gallery, Vancouver, BC

2019

artsPacific, Aldergrove Kinsmen Community Center, Langley

Two Concepts of Realization, Newton Cultural Center, Surrey, BC

2018

Arts 2018, Surrey Art Gallery, Surrey, BC

Artist Talk: Palette Knife Adventures, Surrey Art Gallery, Surrey, BC 

Magnitude of Color, Beaudry Gallery, Dallas, TX 

2017

Diversiform, Beaudry Gallery, Dallas, TX

In a New Light, Hatch Gallery, Hamtramck, MI

Seven, River's Edge Gallery, Wyandotte, MI

A l'Heure de Paris (First Place Award), Detroit, MI

Haute Domain: Detroit Art & Design, Galerie Camille, Detroit, MI

Blooms, Bugs, Beasts, Scarab Club, Detroit, MI

Future Interrupted, Beaudry Gallery, Dallas, TX

Hatchback 11, Hatch Gallery, Hamtramck, MI

HOME, Mike Kelley's Mobile Homestead, MOCAD, Detroit, MI

2016

Holiday Show, Galerie Camille, Detroit, MI

Detroit Society of Women Painters and Sculptors Fall Exhibit, The Loft Fine Art, Mount Clemens, MI

Detroit Biennale, Museum of New Art, Armada, MI

MoPop Festival Featured Artist, Detroit, MI

2016 Fine Art Competition, Ella Sharp Museum, Jackson, MI

Michigan Fine Arts Competition, BBAC, Birmingham, MI

Pop Up Art: Special Edition, Lansing Art Gallery, Lansing, MI

Pathways and Places, solo-exhibition at Beverly Shores Gallery, Beverly Shores, IN

2015

Art for Charlie, Michigan State College of Law, East Lansing, MI

The Next Big Thing, Museum of New Art, Troy, MI

A Rose is a Rose... Except When It's Not, River's Edge Gallery, Wyandotte, MI

Let's Pretend, River's Edge Gallery, Wyandotte, MI

Zussameinarbeit, River's Edge Gallery, Wyandotte, MI

Public Art 

Salem-South Lyon District Library, South Lyon, MI

City of Howell Public Art Project 2015 - 2017, Howell, MI

Art Explored 2016 & 2017, Royal Oak, MI

Detroit Little Libraries - Detroit, MI

Pop Up Art: Special Edition, Lansing, MI

Romulus Public Library, Romulus, MI

Novi Public Library, Novi, MI

City Hall Public Art Installation, Michigan City, IN

Royal Oak 11 Mile East Public Art Project, Royal Oak, MI

Media

Emilie’s story... Real People Real Stories - Creating Connection during Social Distancing, The Compassion Project

Beautiful Paintings of the Natural & Urban Landscapes with Palette Knives, Trendy Art Ideas

Emilie Fantuz: The Artist's Voice Podcast 

Where are they now? Detroit Performs, Detroit Public Television

Featured Artist, Border Crossing Magazine 

Artist Talk: Emilie Mae Fantuz, Palette Knife Adventures, City of Surrey

The Motion of Emotion, Dallas Art & Design Magazine

Emilie Fantuz: Abstract Artist, Artists on the Cutting Edge

From Michigan to Kauai and Back, Art and Design, Bloomfield Community Television 

What the Quiet Can Do, Abstraks Magazine

Detroit Performs, Detroit Public Television 

Works of 5 Artists Permanently Installed in Royal Oak, Royal Oak Patch

Interview: Emilie Fantuz, Romulus Community Television

Selected Collections

Henry Ford Hospital

Bank of Ann Arbor

Burris Law Firm

US Renal Care

Iron Fish Distillery

Todd Interests

Private Collections in Canada, United States, France, Caymen Islands, and the Netherlands

The Fantuzes

Emilie and Mike Fantuz work and reside in Vancouver BC, Canada with their their Apricot Poodle, Victoria.

 

While the two artists have tremendous experience searching for inspiration in many places, they didn’t expect to find each other while doing so. Who knew that their favourite hashtag inspiration on Instagram #paletteknifepainter would also be the reason they met.

 

After many conversations and finally meeting, Emilie made the move from Michigan USA to the Great White North. Today Emilie and Mike work from the same studio, both using the niche technique that brought them together. 

 

Emilie’s art creates a sense of curiosity. It makes the viewer want to know what’s around the next corner, and at the same time creates a sense of familiarity. With her perspective eye, she is able to turn an everyday observation into a form of art that captures a moment you are happy you didn’t miss.

 

With his bold style and expressive nature, Mike’s pieces compliment Emilie’s close up perspective. By taking a regular view and simply looking up, Mike’s art creates a new perspective on how we see things. A typical Manhattan skyline or Vancouver’s picturesque mountains, his art gives viewers a new way to view things they thought they already knew.

 

The Fantuzes’ art is both capturing and captivating. While they work as individual artists, their art paired together creates a new kind of experience that allows the viewer to see the full picture in everything around us.

For all media, press and collaboration inquires, please contact

 

info@emiliefantuz.com

Digital Press Kit, Palette Knife Art, Emilie Fantuz

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Emilie Fantuz is represented by Ian Tan Gallery