Déclaration de l'artiste

Les paysages urbains d'Emilie Fantuz combinent une application épaisse et audacieuse avec un sentiment d'optimisme saisissant. Elle construit des formes ondulantes à partir de palettes lumineuses et contrastées pour créer de nouvelles perspectives sur des rues et des bâtiments familiers.

Nos environnements urbains sont construits à partir de matériaux denses de béton, d'asphalte et d'acier. Fantuz les reconstruit sur chacune de ses toiles à l'aide de couteaux à palette pour créer des couches d'empâtement fortement appliqué. Elle met l'accent sur les scènes nocturnes où les lumières lumineuses, réfléchissantes et colorées au niveau de la rue se détachent du ciel nocturne naturel. Les personnages de ces scènes approfondissent la juxtaposition entre le naturel et le construit. Leurs corps, leurs postures et leur positionnement dans la composition racontent des moments intimes de chaleur dans un environnement connu. Fantuz adoucit les angles et les formes des rues et des bâtiments, tout en mettant l'accent sur les teintes fortes et la dynamique tonale, entraînant le spectateur dans un paysage urbain qui résonne avec l'expérience intérieure des figures de ses peintures. Habituée à se familiariser avec des lieux urbains qui peuvent au premier abord sembler aliénants, Fantuz se familiarise avec ces espaces noirs du soir afin de révéler leur véritable potentiel nourricier.

 

Fantuz met en lumière le caractère essentiel des bâtiments et des lieux dans des environnements urbains historiques et contemporains. Elle reflète également le caractère unique des personnages au sein d'une population dense, observant leur connexion et les histoires qui nous entourent. Celles-ci sont baignées de lumière qui rebondit sur la surface brillante de la rue autant que sur les fenêtres des immeubles.

 

Les pièces de Fantuz partagent l'attention portée à la beauté des moments quotidiens suspendus dans le temps. Ses méditations sur la pause - à la fois dans la vie et devant ses toiles - invitent le spectateur à faire de même.

Emilie Fantuz, wall art, visual artist, oil on canvas painting, fine art, palette knife painting, palette knife paintings for sale, palette knife painting artists, night painting, night city painting, oil on canvas art painting, oil on canvas painting, oil painting canvas artist, oil on canvas paintings for sale Vancouver, palette knife painting canvas, palette knife painting cityscape, palette knife painting oil on canvas, oil on canvas landscape painting, Oil on canvas painting by Emilie Fantuz, Palette knife painting by Emilie Fantuz, visual artist Emilie Fantuz, female visual artist, artist in visual art, visual artist paintings, Canadian visual artist, Visual artist website, Visual artist online shop Vancouver, oil on canvas, wall art Gastown, wall art gallery, wall art on canvas, wall art bedroom, wall art bedroom ideas, wall art Vancouver, wall art Granville Street, wall art Gastown, wall art New York,

Artist Statement

Emilie Fantuz’s cityscapes combine thick, bold application with a striking sense of optimism. She builds undulating forms from bright, high contrast palettes to create new perspectives on familiar streets and buildings.

Our urban environments are built from dense materials of concrete, asphalt and steel. Fantuz rebuilds them on each of her canvases using palette knives to create layers of heavily applied impasto. She emphasizes nocturnal scenes where the bright, reflective, and colourful lights at street level stand out against the natural night sky. The figures in these scenes deepen the juxtaposition between the natural and the constructed. Their bodies, postures, and positioning in the composition tell of intimate moments of warmth within known surroundings. Fantuz softens the angles and forms of the streets and buildings, while emphasizing strong hues and tonal dynamics, drawing the viewer into a cityscape that resonates with the inner experience of her paintings’ figures. Accustomed to familiarizing herself with urban locales that can at first seem alienating, Fantuz defamiliarizes these noir, evening spaces in order to reveal their true nurturing potential. 

 

Fantuz illuminates the essential character of buildings and locations in historical and contemporary urban settings. She also reflects the figures’ uniqueness within a dense population, observing their connection and the stories that are all around us. These are bathed in light bouncing from the sheened street surface as much as from the buildings’ windows.

 

Fantuz’ pieces share attention to the beauty of everyday moments suspended in time. Her meditations on taking pause - both in life and in front of her canvases - are an invitation to the viewer to do the same.

Emilie Fantuz, wall art, visual artist, oil on canvas painting, fine art, palette knife painting, palette knife paintings for sale, palette knife painting artists, night painting, night city painting, oil on canvas art painting, oil on canvas painting, oil painting canvas artist, oil on canvas paintings for sale Vancouver, palette knife painting canvas, palette knife painting cityscape, palette knife painting oil on canvas, oil on canvas landscape painting, Oil on canvas painting by Emilie Fantuz, Palette knife painting by Emilie Fantuz, visual artist Emilie Fantuz, female visual artist, artist in visual art, visual artist paintings, Canadian visual artist, Visual artist website, Visual artist online shop Vancouver, oil on canvas, wall art Gastown, wall art gallery, wall art on canvas, wall art bedroom, wall art bedroom ideas, wall art Vancouver, wall art Granville Street, wall art Gastown, wall art New York,
  • Emilie Fantuz, wall art, visual artist, oil on canvas painting, fine art, palette knife painting, pa
  • Emilie Fantuz, wall art, visual artist, oil on canvas painting, fine art, palette knife painting, pa
  • Emilie Fantuz, wall art, visual artist, oil on canvas painting, fine art, palette knife painting, pa
  • Emilie Fantuz, wall art, visual artist, oil on canvas painting, fine art, palette knife painting, pa
  • Emilie Fantuz, wall art, visual artist, oil on canvas painting, fine art, palette knife painting, pa

Contact

info@emiliefantuz.com

604-670-5325

Suite #151

505-8840 210 Street

Langley, BC V1M 2Y2